Info: (901) 746-9948 • Tix: (901) 751-7500 • 1801 Exeter Rd. Germantown, TN 38138

Where Past & Future Gather
April 23, 2022
7:30 PM at GPAC
Awadagin Pratt, piano


Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1, op. 25 “Classical” 
Montgomery, Jessie: Iris Orchestra co-commission
Leshnoff, Jonathan: Score 
Symphony No. 8 in F Major, op.93    

The final program puts the pandemic season in the past by taking up works we had intended to, and now are able to, bring to the stage. The program opens with Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 1, the “Classical,” his contemporary take on the style of Haydn, originally scheduled to open the 2020 season. The concert continues with two commissioned works: composer and violinist Jessie Montgomery’s work for solo piano and orchestra is inspired by a T. S. Elliot poem (referenced in this concert’s title). “Score” is a tribute to Iris’ past twenty years from longtime Iris friend Jonathan Leshnoff. Finally, Iris Orchestra’s 22nd orchestral season comes to a triumphant close with Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8.

Subscriptions to the 2021-2022 Iris Orchestra concert season are available NOW! 

Call (901) 746-9948 to subscribe.