Info: (901) 746-9948 • Tix: (901) 751-7500 • 1801 Exeter Rd. Germantown, TN 38138
Guest Artist: Haochen Zhang, piano

Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1, “Classical”
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1
Schubert: Symphony No. 6 

Since his gold medal win at the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009, Haochen Zhang has captivated audiences in the United States, Europe, and Asia with a unique combination of deep musical sensitivity, fearless imagination, and spectacular virtuosity. Now he joins Iris Orchestra to kick off the 21st season with Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1. The program opens with
Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 1, “Classical,” his contemporary take on the style of Haydn, and circles back to conclude with Franz Schubert. Nicknamed “Little C Major”, Schubert’s 6th symphony is anything but miniature. This triumphant symphony packs the perfect punch to launch the season.

7:30 PM