Info: (901) 746-9948 • Tix: (901) 751-7500 • 1801 Exeter Rd. Germantown, TN 38138

Conducting Pianist
January 29, 2022
7:30 PM at GPAC
Jeffrey Kahane, piano/conductor


Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 22 in E-flat Major, K.482
Shaw, Caroline: Entr’acte                                                                 
Symphony No. 92 in G Major, “Oxford”       

Subscriptions to the 2021-2022 Iris Orchestra concert season are available NOW!
Call (901) 746-9948 to subscribe.

Equally at home at the piano or on the podium, Jeffrey Kahane is recognized around the world for his mastery of a diverse repertoire ranging from Bach and Mozart to the music of our time. On this program, we meet Kahane first as player-conductor, leading Mozart’s Concerto No. 22 in E-flat from the keyboard, a traditional practice in Mozart’s era. More traditional in our time, he leads from the podium as conductor in Haydn’s Symphony No. 92, “Oxford.” Tucked betwixt these two classic works is Caroline Shaw’s 2011 Entr’acte (perfectly named after the interval between two acts of a play). This is a program to leave you entranced and wanting more.